Alpha user check is being removed


Advanced search

Message boards : Server backend and mirrors : Alpha user check is being removed

Author Message
Profile Janus
Volunteer moderator
Project administrator
Avatar
Send message
Joined: 16 Jun 04
Posts: 4461
Credit: 2,094,806
RAC: 0
Message 12656 - Posted: 3 May 2014, 13:12:28 UTC
Last modified: 3 May 2014, 13:29:21 UTC

In October 2009 the licensing system for BURP changed from a proprietary system to the now well-known Creative Commons licensing system. During a grace period between 2009 and 2010 the old system was phased out and people who did not want to contribute to the new system were asked to disconnect their hosts from the project.
Ultimately in March 2010 an email went out to inform users that all hosts belonging to alpha users where the owner had not explicitly upgraded to Beta would be temporarily blocked by the project server to give the owners enough time to understand the new licensing system.

This post is to inform you that we will be removing this check in the near future.

In other words:
1) If you sign up a host to the project we will anticipate that it is because you want to participate in the project
2) If you have an old host signed up we will anticipate that is is because you want to participate in the project.
3) If you do not want to participate please remove your hosts from the project.

This will conclude the transition to Creative Commons.

Profile Janus
Volunteer moderator
Project administrator
Avatar
Send message
Joined: 16 Jun 04
Posts: 4461
Credit: 2,094,806
RAC: 0
Message 13921 - Posted: 10 Jul 2015, 16:33:37 UTC - in response to Message 12656.

This will take effect within the next few weeks - this post is the final warning.


Post to thread

Message boards : Server backend and mirrors : Alpha user check is being removed